• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • majormadmax

Úlfhéðnar
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 27, 2009
    Helotes!
    While my organization preaches the "horrors" of social networks, they exist and younger generations love 'em!

As such, it makes more sense to teach your kids the proper way to utilize them, warn them of the risks and dangers; and trust them to make the right decisions.

My 14-yr-old son has a Facebook page, and we're "friends" on it. I have about two hundred "friends" total (most of which are from when I graduated high school 30 years ago), he has well over double that. I occasionally look at the posts on his "wall," but for the most part I don't interfere with it.

We figure it they don't use Facebook, they'd be texting each other all the time (they still do anyway!). It's no different than us being on the phone for hours when we were teens, or hanging out at the local convenience store playing pinball.

You gotta let kids be kids...within reason!

Cheers! M2

Rum Runner

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2010
    Plano
    I don't have to deal with that yet, but my brother had the following rules which seemed to work well: You could only be friends with people you have met IRL. Mom & Dad have the username and password and can spot check as needed.

Note: I don't know at what age it was allowed with these conditions...I am thinking High School, but I could be wrong.

scgstuff

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 7, 2011
    Central Texas
    My thoughts.....it is a cool thing for kids to have. But, it should be monitored by a responsible adult.

My kids each have facebook accounts that I created for them with the following rules:

a) The email addresses associated with them are not their e-mail addresses. Mywife and I have those e-mail accounts so we can see anything coming or going from their facebook.