APOD Firearms

Texas electric grid. This is gonna hurt.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Vaquero

Moving stuff to the gas prices thread.....
    Staff member
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Apr 4, 2011
    Dixie Land
    As much as I dislike ERCOT, it served a purpose.
    A "made up entity " that actually buffered us consumers from the government.
    The government of Texas.
    PUC is government.

Y'all research and draw your own conclusions.

Steve In Texas

Lifetime Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 18, 2023
    Austin, Texas
    I worked in the power industry for three decades so have some opinions here. The first kilo-watt hours of power sold by Edison cost on the order of 8 to 10 cents each well over 100 years ago. Today you can find reliable residential power at similar actual prices (I pay a bit over 10 cents/kWh to PEC) and that does not factor in the inflation over the same time frame. What has changed however is getting away from solely a local utility that good bad or indifferent had to adopt strategies that served you as their customer for the long run. Open access and competitive markets has served to make good money for some power producers, some power providers, and some power marketing firms since the mid 90s. It has also served to distract from the many green power mandates that we have seen along the same time frame. We have also increased the number of ways we use electricity over that same 100 plus years.