• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Elbe

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 12, 2012
    San Antonio
    I think I will purchase the Ruger American rifle. I am not sure what caliber to buy. I am a newb, so I do not really understand what caliber is best for various game. What do you all use for deer and hogs?

The other consideration is ammo cost. The Ruger American comes in .243, .308, .270, and 30-06. Which one is middle of the road in terms of cost?
    Gun Zone Deals

Younggun

Certified Jackass
    TGT Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jul 31, 2011
    hill co.
    .308 or .270, the .308 would probably be cheaper for range time cause you should be able to find some surplus ammo.

.243 is a great round but you may find it underpowered for larger hogs. I still love mine for deer and wouldn't trade it for anything.

The 30/06 is gonna have some kick and won't do anything your wanton to do better than the .308 or .270. Plus, they both shoot flatter.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Texas42

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 21, 2008
    Texas
    In Texas, hunting is 92% shot placement, 8% bullet selection, and 0.0001% caliber.

I prefer short action calibers. . .because they are shorter, lighter, and work better with shorter barrels (which I like). I prefer .243 winchester, but there isn't any reason not to go .308 either. You can get surplus 7.62x51Nato relatively inexpensive, and match ammo can be found for about $1ish/round.

Show me the pig that will die from a 308 and not from a .243.

Younggun

Certified Jackass
    TGT Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jul 31, 2011
    hill co.
    Show me the pig that will die from a 308 and not from a .243.