APOD Firearms

Neighborly muzzle device for indoor use?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SaintTim

TGT Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 11, 2024
    Fort Worth, TX
    Hello. I'm new to the rifle game and building out an AR-15 now. I've heard some mixed things about muzzle brakes indoors as far as concussion and noise. I know that you should realize what you're signing up for going to a range, but if I want to shoot a good amount every week without ruffling too many feathers, what's a good option short of a suppressor? (I'm all for that, but there's going to be a lead time obviously)

Would something as simple as an A2 bird cage be the go-to? Thank you.
    Target Sports

jrbfishn

TGT Addict
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 9, 2013
    south of killeen
    Anything indoors is going to be loud. Period. Short of a suppressor anyway. If you look a bit, most places that offer muzzle devices sell a linear muzzle break that directs most of the noise and gasses forward and down range. I have 2 of them and they seem to work. They do seem to direct most of the noise down range. Indoors? YMMV
    However,, I had to take one off. It was throwing my groups off making them inconsistant. When I took it off, they closed up a lot.

Sent from my SM-S906U using Tapatalk

PinnedandRecessed

Allegedly
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Feb 11, 2019
    Hays County