• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Michael Wilson

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 28, 2008
    I'm new to reloading. Looking at reloading 223. I seem to be able to find a lot of military brass. What is a good set up to remove the military primers and crimp. I am told my old lee press and dies will not push out the military primer. Thanks
    Lynx Defense

randmplumbingllc

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 15, 2009
    El Paso
    I'm new to reloading. Looking at reloading 223. I seem to be able to find a lot of military brass. What is a good set up to remove the military primers and crimp. I am told my old lee press and dies will not push out the military primer. Thanks

They will push out the primers, but not the crimp. Dillon has a pretty good unit. It is the Super Swag 600. It goes for about $97.00 It works pretty well. It has a small and large primer rod for both kind of cases.

PopsXD9sc

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 16, 2008
    Longview
    Like randmplumbingllc said the Lee will deprime. To get started de-crimping I bought a hand held reaming tool. I took the bit out of the wooden handle and chucked it up to the drill. It's pretty much in and out with little pressure and doesn't remove but a tiny sliver of brass. So far using this method I have not had a primer pocket that was too large. I have 1000 LC brass so guess the next step is the Dillon Super Swage 600.

dtalley

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 25, 2008
    Lost in BCS
    What Pops said, reamer in a cordless drill. I have reamed several thousand sitting in front of the t.v. with a cold beer. Kind of relaxing for me.

Dawico

Uncoiled
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Lampasas, Texas