• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • oldwisemonk

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 10, 2023
    San Antonio
    Maybe I'm terrible at google and forum search, but it wasn't easy for me to find this information, so I figured I'd post here for anyone that might be clueless like me.

While it seems like it might be common sense, I honestly wasn't positive, so I checked a few places to be sure.

Context: I moved here from Utah and have a Utah CFP. I am now a resident of Texas and have Texas ID.

I was told FFL transfers, transfer fees, and background checks are completely separate things from carry reciprocity laws/regulation. I'll still have to pay for background checks and won't likely get the discounted FFL transfer fees when applicable.

Conclusion: Gonna sign up to get a Texas LTC.

UPDATE: After some discussion in this thread, I believe I still misunderstood things. I was likely assuming I'd have to pay for background checks here because we had to in Utah (unless you had a CFP). Again, thank you TGT community for the back and forth.
    DK Firearms

Last edited:

MountainGirl

Happy to be here!
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 22, 2022
    Ten Oaks
    Maybe I'm terrible at google and forum search, but it wasn't easy for me to find this information, so I figured I'd post here for anyone that might be clueless like me.

While it seems like it might be common sense, I honestly wasn't positive, so I checked a few places to be sure.

Context: I moved here from Utah and have a Utah CFP. I am now a resident of Texas and have Texas ID.

I was told FFL transfers, transfer fees, and background checks are completely separate things from carry reciprocity laws/regulation. I'll still have to pay for background checks and won't likely get the discounted FFL transfer fees when applicable.

Conclusion: Gonna sign up to get a Texas LTC.