• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • thescoutranch

TN Transplant - We love living in TX
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Mar 5, 2020
    Georgetown
    I am new to smoking food, so I thought I would start a thread to be able to ask so very basic ( and maybe dumb) questions.

I know quite a few you guys (and gals) on here have a lot of experience smoking food. I figured I can learn from you all‘s experience.

So, let’s start with the first one:

I see the thermometer on my smoker can go up to 400°F. Is there any reason to smoke food at a smoker temperature higher than about 250?

Eastexasrick

Isn't it pretty to think so.
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jul 2, 2022
    Naples TX.
    I am new to smoking food, so I thought I would start a thread to be able to ask so very basic ( and maybe dumb) questions.

I know quite a few you guys (and gals) on here have a lot of experience smoking food. I figured I can learn from you all‘s experience.

So, let’s start with the first one:

I see the thermometer on my smoker can go up to 400°F. Is there any reason to smoke food at a smoker temperature higher than about 250?
    NO. just because a gauge has an upper limit doesn't mean you need to, or can hit it.

Quote from the Norton dealer to a customer that said the tack goes to 10K can it do it?

msharley

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 28, 2021
    Central Pennsylvania
    What I've been doing with chickens (or chicken parts) the last couple years?

Get home from butcher shop..wash chickens (or parts)...pour some of the "el cheapo" Italian dressing in plastic one gallon HEFTY bag.

Give chicken/parts a "roll"...

Set in Figidaire overnight. then cook/smoke to suit.