• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • picker

Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 14, 2014
    TX Hill Country
    Worth the effort ? I am new to reloading as most of you men know, and as I work up some loads trying to find a few favorites.
    I have noticed I shoot fair and poor with same load,now I know I shoot beter some days I suppose we all do ?
    And I understand the difference between shooting on a calm day and a windy one.
    But after shooting the same load several times/days I find little consistency, there are only 2 variables me and the cases.Everything else is the same.
    Now I know I aint the best shot, but some times I get a good tight pattern and sometimes they are way off.
    Just curious about this as Im reloading range brass.
    Best/joe
    Gun Zone Deals

Charlie

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 19, 2008
    'Top of the hill, Kerr County!
    Shortly after I began reloading about 15 yrs. ago I was keeping everything separated, logged, etc. After a couple of years I zeroed in what was, in my opinion, the most critical factor for improving accuracy ............ consistency in your loading process such as cartridge over all length, bullet weight, consistent powder weight, etc. Unless a case is just crap or brand new, I really don't think it one can tell much difference. Just my two bits. :green:

Booyah

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 27, 2012
    San Antonio
    I still consider myself new as well and I still separate head stamps. I don't know if I will continue long term but it is a heck of a way to gather first hand data to decide. It gives you hands on time with your brass to make other observations as well. For new reloaders I don't see much of a downside.

Charlie

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 19, 2008