• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • phatcyclist

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 22, 2008
    Austin, TX
    I just purchased a revolver chambered in .38 spec/.357 mag and I think this is a good caliber for reloading. I know a .38 special case won't get worked much in the firing process so they will last a really long time. I have some 150~ grain wad-cutters and some Unique powder that I had for the .45 colt single action I just sold. I know these straight-cased, low pressure revolver cartridges are where Unique shines, so I'm wondering if anyone on here has some good advice on loading them. I've never loaded .38 special or wad-cutter projectiles but I've been reloading for a few years.

Thanks in advance.
    Gun Zone Deals

GJW1911

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 16, 2010
    Central Texas
    I have done quite a bit of reloading with unique in the 38 special, but not with wad-cutters. Normally I use 158gr LSWCs from Oregon Trail and 5.0gr of Unique. This is a stiff 38 load, not for 38spl guns, my book says 4.5 is max, but John Taffin says 5.0gr is OK.
    Its a good powder, but for me has been extremely dirty, with a tight crimp it seems to clean it up a bit.
    I have some 38spl cases that have been reloaded at least 15 times, at that point I quit counting. Just figured I would shoot them until they split.

Charley

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Aug 7, 2008
    San Antonio
    I'd start with about 2.9 grains of Unique, and work up to no more than about 3.3 grains. Unique was reformulated a few years back to be cleaner burning, but it's still often refered to as flammable dirt. I use a lot of it in straightwall handgun cartridges.

Texasjack

TGT Addict
    Rating - 50%
    1   1   0
    Jan 3, 2010
    Occupied Texas
    The .38 is a joy to reload. Lots of powders work very well, especially Bullseye and 231.