• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • emott1

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 30, 2024
    McDade, Tx
    Hello, first day on the forum. I have been a teacher for 25 years at a Public High School here in central Texas. Last year we signed on to the Guardian Program at our school. If you have never heard of this program, teachers from our own staff are trained and conceal carry within the school campus. Each campus in the district would have people who have gone through background checks and put through a serious program in order to take on the responsibility of protecting our campus. I write this as a newbie to Texas Gun Talk, to share my experience and to open a discussion. No teacher wants to harm a student. I was on the fence about this, it feels counter to why I am there, to teach young people. But, everytime I would read in the media or hear of a school event, I would feel more insecure about my safety as a teacher. I considered quiting teaching because of this issue. On my campus, we don't know who these individuals are participating in this program. I know one person, because we started together 25 years ago. She is awesome, and I feel safe with her carrying. It's stange at first because is a very complex issue for a teacher, one that is different than say law enforcement who would have no connection to the shooter. We are a small school ( 3A) and most of us know our students and it would be very difficult to have to carry out this responsibility. Knowing our students is important. Knowing what student may have a grievance or has been exposed to say bullying for example. I didn't want to get in to all that, just wanted to say the teachers all know each other and we are there to do the job of educating the young people of Texas. My co-workers are my friends and we share a mutual respect for the profession and each other. I now feel, who else to protect each other? We are not a sch