• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Coon

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 18, 2023
    Montgomery
    I've been reloading for many years, but just recently got my first progressive. It's a wonderful thing for pistol cartridges for sure. But my main question is concerning all rifle cartridges actually. Since you have to lube the cases, I'd like to know what lube is best to use when doing high volume reloading. I've always done the old brush the inside of each one with lube on a brush and then roll them on the pad and set them up in a block. But I was resizing them all one at a time first, you get the picture. Now, I'm trying to reload .223s a couple hundred an hour and I that method of lubricating the cases seems to be problem. Is the hornady spray lube a good as hornady claims? Are there other spray lubes? Better methods? I'd sure appreciate to know how y'all do it and your opinions on the case lubes out there.
    Thanks
    Dave
    Venture Surplus ad

TexasHorn7

TGT Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 7, 2023
    Dallas
    I just got my Dillon working for 223. I tried Hornady 1 shot with poor results (But I had some bad range brass). I am going to try it again with better brass.

Dillon has lube, but I don't know how good it works. If you want, there are recipes for it online. It is basically alcohol and lanolin.

robertc1024

Staff member
    TGT Supporter
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 22, 2013
    San Marcos
    I've had pretty good luck with the Hornady 1 shot. You have to let it dry before you size the brass though, but it flashes off pretty fast. To be honest, I've never tried to load .223 on my progressive, even though I've got the tools for it. I load all my rifle rounds on a single stage.

Txmark

Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 26, 2011
    Mustang Ridge