• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Das Jared

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 20, 2012
    Friendswood
    Hey guys, I am a college student, and am about to recieve an associates in general studies. I want to know more about what it takes to be a plant operator. What should i be doing, and looking for? I plan on attending welding school as well in the fall. Lay it on me.

sent from my dishwasher
    Guns International

TundraWookiee

Scruffy Nerf Herder
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 9, 2012
    Cedar Park
    Plants like DOW and BASF list their requirements right on their career pages but the majority of them essentially require an associate's degree with a few minor caveats. As RFA said, Brazosport College has a good program as well as Wharton County Junior College and most plants in the area will give preference to those with Process Technology degrees. If you have any specific questions after you look into things a bit more feel free to ask and I'll pass them along to my cousin since he's the chairman of the hiring committee at DOW Plant B in Freeport.

Rangel

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 11, 2012
    Crosby Tx
    Getting a job in a plant is hard without the Process tech degree. I know I've been trying for a couple years and have 7years experience in the industry. I've been considering trying to get it online, but I'm not sure if I can.

Rangel

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 11, 2012
    Crosby Tx
    I took the Exxon operator test at the end of may. I've heard horror stories about how hard it is and most people fail several times. I went in with a positive attitude and a prayer. And I passed!! Hopefully now I can use my contacts to secure a job.

Das Jared

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 20, 2012
    Friendswood