• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JBarL

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 16, 2011
    Mosheim
    Just wrote my Senator on the open carry issue I hope I wasnt to hard on him. but I just wanted him to know, we are getting sick and tired of Our Rights being denied and treating us like they know what is best for us and I hope that Texas dont fall into the " Nanny State" like some have already turned into. please allow me to paste my letter any feed back would be great. thanks

Senator Birdwell,
    I'm writing to you today for the reason of open carry laws in Texas. Sir I am a Certified Handgun Instructor and a CHL holder as well. I wanted to know, what happened to the bill that was supposed to be voted on for open carry. Sir I am neither a lawyer nor do I plan to be, but if you would allow me to say, that right now The State of Texas is going against its on constitution. Constitution states "SEC. 23. Every citizen shall have the right to keep and bear arms in the lawful defense of himself or the State; but the Legislature shall have power by law to regulate the wearing of arms with a view to prevent crime." The U.S. Constitution also states the right to bear arms for defense. Sir with all due respect, we as citizens are getting really upset with the legislators infringing on the rights of US law-abiding citizens. This State like all are based on the Freedoms from the Government, And Frankly Sir as a individual I will say We don’t need to be placed in the category as a "Nanny State" Sir another words. I have the right to know what is the best interest of me and my family, Not the Government telling me when to do What to Do and How to do. Last time I read the Constitution and Bill of Rights I do remember seeing the Words “We The People" And If I recall We The People Is who Pays the Salaries of the government. I would like to see Texas Give back the right that was taken from us back in 1