• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sobi1998

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 18, 2016
    It's my gramps old model 700. I got some birchwood/Casey 2 in 1 liquid bore cleaner and did the steps and still noticed this in the barrel. The patches came out blue/green/black. Is it rust or copper? Would it affect accuracy? Should I just keep repeating the bore cleaner process?
    247e862f8a46dd25bd840852d3c06bab.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gll

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 22, 2016
    I'm no expert, and I don't know the composition of the bore cleaner, but I'm going to hazard a guess... The green and blue on your patch suggests copper, the black suggests carbon, but the pits on the lands suggest rust. Probably a combination of all.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

sobi1998

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 18, 2016
    The blue/green color definitely suggests copper. Are those pits, or just debris in the bore?

What is that gun chambered in? That's quite a bit of copper fouling if that's what it really is.

.30-06, I think there's a lil debris and a lil pitting. I've read that shooting a lot could clear it out?

Maverick44

Youngest old man on TGT.
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    .30-06, I think there's a lil debris and a lil pitting. I've read that shooting a lot could clear it out?