• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • fishingsetx

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 15, 2015
    Ok, I was asked to start a seperate thread on this, so here it is. Please understand, I am a complete novice when it comes to making black powder!! I have made one successful batch in my life and a couple more that didnt work out. All the info I have accumulated has come from research on the net. I claim no credit for any of it. I am not a prepper, but black powder can be used in most any cartridge. It wont be nearly as powerful, and it wont normally cycle a semiauto. It is highly corrosive to fire arms, and the velocities are pitiful compared to modern smokless. All the negatives aside, if you are in a life or death situation and have access to the raw materials, its a good skill to know!

Also, If you choose to try and make your own black powder, you do so at your own risk!!!! You will be milling, crushing, and mixing an explosive! Treat it as such!! If you blow your hand off, burn your house down, or otherwise do any kind of damage to yourself, your stuff, or others, its on you. I dont recommend anyone try any info on this thread!!!

Now that that is out of the way, lets get started!!! For black powder, you will need at least 3 ingredients. Salt Peter, charcoal, and sulfur. The traditional ratio is 75% salt peter, 15% charcoal, and 10% sulfur all measured by WEIGHT!!!!. Here is where to find the ingredients:

Salt peter - Spectracide stump remover is actually granulated salt peter. Check the MSDS of a stump remover before purchasing. It should say salt peter, Potasium Nitrate, or KNO3.

cc12cf669bd96220ccd11e3b622d688a.jpg