• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Curse

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 16, 2010
    Houston tx
    Hopefully I won't be lynched for this...

Well, I'm aware of how I may legally go about purchasing a handgun so long as it isn't from a FFL, and have decided on a model. I almost have all the money saved up. However, I can't find one anywhere and I have no one who can gift one to me. This is my first time posting on a forum about firearms, and so far it seems pretty friendly.

The model I am looking for is a NIB Para ordnance 1911 GI Expert. I've fondled two and shot another and I really like it. This will be my first personal handgun.

Would it be out of line for one to ask another in the area to purchase one for me, and then Gift, or sell it to me? I am of course otherwise eligible.

On a slightly related note, I have an Intratec Tec-9 pre-ban model with threaded barrel, 2 hi cap mags, and hard case. It is in great condition and from what I'm told in a few years they will be a collector's range toy. What would one of these be worth?

Thank you in advance for your responses.
    Texas SOT

Texas1911

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 29, 2017
    Austin, TX
    Someone else buying the gun for you that is not immediate family would be considered a straw purchase by the ATF, and would not be recommended. Because it is a felony, you can be arrested on conspiracy charges for simply asking people to do so.

I have no idea on the Tec-9 ... most people kinda frown upon the Tec-9 as being a low-quality gangbanger gun, but you might have a niche market that would be interested in it.

The downside to buying a pistol is that you also are going to be underage to purchase ammo.

You might just have to wait it out. There are a ton of fun guns you can buy at 18+, have you considered any long guns?

Bily Lovec

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 19, 2008