• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SA_1911_45

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 20, 2009
    Connecticut
    I am currently a resident of Connecticut who holds a Connecticut state permit to carry concealed pistols and revolvers. I will be moving to Texas in January 2010 and would like to know if my Connecticut permit will be sufficient to carry concealed pistols/revolvers in Texas or would I require a Texas issued permit?

I have done some research on this and it would appear Texas honors Connecticut issued concealed carry permits but I am unclear if this covers a Connecticut resident that moves to Texas or does this apply to a Connecticut resident who is visiting Texas or establishes part time residency in both states (Connecticut and Texas)?

I would appreciate any clarification. I recently incurred the time and expense to renew my Connecticut permit and would consider it a great bit of news to hear it would be accepted when I move to Texas.
    Guns International

Dawico

Uncoiled
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Lampasas, Texas
    Even if Connecticut does honor your Texas residency as a non resident license, it will save you legal hassle to get a TX CHL. If you get pulled over and the officer is not sure about you being able to carry legally, you could be treated as a criminal with an illegal firearm until the situation is cleared up. That is a bad place to be. I have heard of this happening to others in the same situation, being a TX resident with an out of state carry permit. Legal or not, that would be enough right there to justify the expense of a TX CHL.

SA_1911_45

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 20, 2009
    Connecticut
    Hello all and thanks for the welcome. I cannot wait to get to Texas!!