• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TRay63

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 17, 2010
    nc
    I have just purchased a CETME 308 with assorted 308 and military 7.62 ammo. The first two mags fired very good with no issues at all. I was very impressed with accuracy also. I dont recall if it was 7.62 ammo or the 308 rounds. Later I tried to fire another magazine of rounds through it and had problems. These were 308 rounds and they did not want to eject the round after firing and I also had several misfires related to the firing pin not striking the primer hard enough.
    I am completely new to the CETME and dont even have a manual, can anyone jump start me and point me in the right direction to fix these issues?!

Thanks,
    Ted
    Guns International

codygjohnson

Eats breakfast everyday
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 11, 2009
    Flower Mound
    Check the bolt face. I've never had that issue with the CETME or HK91, but a couple weeks ago I was shooting the HK21 and a couple belts into it I had the same issues. Lot's of misfires, hard to eject. It would still strip a round from the belt and extract it alright, but I couldn't get it to fire or eject. I pulled the bolt and scrubbed the face down, reassembled and it shot fine. All I could figure was there was too much crap in the recesses and the case wasn't fully seating in the bolt face. Could've been something else, I did do a bit more cleaning of the bolt and barrel face before I put it back together.

Cleaning the hell out of the rifle would be a good start. Those rifles tend to get crud in places that take some work to get to and the previous owner may not have done much more than barrel cleaning.

TRay63

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 17, 2010
    nc