DK Firearms

Buying & registering motorcycle with expired registration??? Pls advise ...

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kakpataka

BANNED!!!
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 9, 2009
    DFW Lewisville-Coppell
    Guys, I picked out a bike that is garaged and the registration expired in july 2010.
    If I buy it, am i going to be responsible for the lapse from July till the date I register?
    I am new to TX so i am not sure .
    The current owner is in Ft Worth area, Burleson, I think.

Eli

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Dec 28, 2008
    Ghettohood - SW Houston
    I'd get tags before driving it. You are liable if you drive it on expired tags, and if they're past 30 or 90 days out (I don't remember) you cannot get the ticket dismissed by getting the tags. I found this out the hard way, I picked up my current car on a Friday afternoon and got a $180 ticket less than 48 hours later! @$$hole cop cited me despite a dated title transfer form in the car with me telling me "You can print a temporary tag off of the DPS web site." For the record, only dealers can print a temporary tag, but every tag office worker and cop in Wilco will tell you otherwise until you demand proof, even the judge thought you could!

Eli

Eli

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Dec 28, 2008
    Ghettohood - SW Houston
    You were driving the car with expired tags.....and HE is the asshole? Interesting....
    I posted this before, but: