• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TAZ

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 17, 2008
    Round Rock
    Anyone out there cast their own lead bullets. Im thinking about starting to do so and was wondering how financially viable it really is. Also I am wondering how one would be able to tell what kind of lead alloy I have. Is there a hardness test of sorts to see what's up. I got my hands on some lead jacketed telco cable which according to specs is either 100%lead or 98-2 Lead-Tin.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Lynx Defense

robocop10mm

Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jan 9, 2009
    Round Rock
    I have been casting bullets for 25 years. Saeco and Lee both make lead hardness testers. The Saeco is the best but MUCH more expensive. Buy "The Cast Bullet Handbook" from Lyman. It has a wealth of info. You need to understand the relationship between Lead, Tin and Antimony and how they effect bullet hardness. 98-2 is not much harder than virgin lead. It is not a good bullet alloy except for very low velocity bullets like cowboy action loads at 750 fps. 98-2 can be alloyed with wheel weights (higher in Antimony) to make an acceptable general purpose handgun bullet. Wheel weights are 95% lead, 4% Antimony, 1/2 - 1% Tin and up to about 1/4% Arsenic. For GP bullets up to about 1000fps, I would use about 50/50 wheel weights /your cable jackets. If you plan on going any higher in velocity than that, you will need some linotype (84/12/4 Lead/Antimony/Tin).

OLDVET

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 14, 2009
    Richardson, Texas