• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BIGCOUNTRY01

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 3, 2011
    Amarillo
    I know that this question has probably been asked several times before but im looking for some advice. Ive been playing with idea now for several years and ive decided that some time this year i want to build my own AR15. I dont want to build a 22 lr or 308. Im looking at building a 5.56 or 223 whichever you like to call it. Yes i do know that it is the same caliber. I have been browsing around brownells and i was wondering what is the cheapest route that a guy can take to build one. I dont have unlimited money im on sort of a tight budget but i figure i can buy a piece at a time. I know that it will take a while to get all the parts togeather. Its kind of like the old saying goes poor folk have poor ways. but adventually i want something that looks more tactical than a hunting rifle. Ive got enough hunting rifles. Any Advice that you can give me would be great on what to buy and wheres the cheapest place to pick up parts.
    Texas SOT

Dawico

Uncoiled
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Lampasas, Texas
    Just so it has been said, 5.56 and 223 are not the same caliber. 5.56 is hotter, and a 5.56 rifle will shoot both calibers safely. Not so much with a 223 rifle.

Anyways, a good cheap place to start would be a Plum Crazy lower. It is a complete lower unit for about $150 or so, or even cheaper if you get in on a group buy.

Code3GT

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 12, 2008
    Austin
    I just built a Stag 2HT for $828 out the door. You could always lower the cost by going with a Spikes lower or Plum Crazy. I like Stag and Spikes because they make a good product at an affordable price. I'm sure you can find less expensive uppers but workmanship may suffer. Just my two cents.