• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ATX_Shawn

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 28, 2013
    Austin
    So I did a trade and ended up with a practically new hardly used Diamond Outlaw. I've got no real solid bow experience but I'll be practicing quite a bit once I get settled into a new place. I'm not a huge hunter, but that's not by choice. I'd like to start hunting more, but I don't know when, where or what you can hunt with a bow. I've done some varmint hunts, and predator hunts with 22's and what not, but never any deer hunting or hog hunts.

I appreciate any advice you have for a rookie with a bow...
    DK Firearms

Jon Payne

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 16, 2010
    Third Coast
    It's not a bad idea to visit a bow shop with an indoor range. At the shop we have in Bridge City TX, Precision Archery, if you buy arrows and accessories from them they let you use the range. They'll also set the draw length for you and give you some helpful tips. Hope this helps. Btw, bought the same bow for my son last season and he took his first deer with it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

General Zod

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 29, 2012
    Kaufman County
    Cabela's has an archery range.

As for what you can hunt with it...depending on the arrowheads you've got, you can hunt anything from rabbits (with blunts) to deer (with broadheads) to bear (with a death wish). And then there's bowfishing...

ATX_Shawn

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 28, 2013
    Austin
    It's not a bad idea to visit a bow shop with an indoor range. At the shop we have in Bridge City TX, Precision Archery, if you buy arrows and accessories from them they let you use the range. They'll also set the draw length for you and give you some helpful tips. Hope this helps. Btw, bought the same bow for my son last season and he took his first deer with it.