• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hswaters

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 16, 2012
    Houston Texas
    I saw a post in this thread that concerned this very problem. I have been reloading for about 2 years or less. I started on 9mm and always load them to minimum charge and after about 5000 rounds I have had no safety problems.

Anyway after I got the progressive press a friend at the range told me a progressive press is too much for a newbie to handle and that I was going to blow myself up. In fact he pretty much said that to me every time I saw him.

So recently I did come close. Hopefully you guys will cut me some slack for being honest about all this. See the video below.

ARJ Defense ad

Acera

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 17, 2011
    Republic of Texas
    When using a progressive press, I have found it easier to take samples from the finished rounds to check powder drop accuracy rather than trying to pull one out of the middle of the process. Take a bullet puller (hammer style) and disassemble the round, remove the projectile and measure the powder. Never had a problem with a progressive double charging.

hswaters

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 16, 2012
    Houston Texas
    When using a progressive press, I have found it easier to take samples from the finished rounds to check powder drop accuracy rather than trying to pull one out of the middle of the process. Take a bullet puller (hammer style) and disassemble the round, remove the projectile and measure the powder. Never had a problem with a progressive double charging.

I have been told that the only way this powder measure will double charge is if you don't index the shell plate and push the round into the die twice. I don't know if that happened or not. Thanks for the reply.

Younggun

Certified Jackass
    TGT Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0