• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TexMex247

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    May 11, 2009
    Leander(NW Austin)
    I have been putting lead on target for almost 30 years now through just about every type of weather we experience in Texas. Over the years, base layers have improved in tech and quality from the long johns I grew up romping around in. Gloves have become less bulky and now have scent control. Balaclavas are thin and awesome in windy conditions. I have discovered tons of great warm weather gear but come deer season, I find myself layering up when I'd really just prefer better gear.

I have definitely become a fan of under armors offerings but have yet to spend the big bucks on their jackets and pants. I also like some of the high end browning and scent lock stuff. This year I am committed to upgrading my jacket, pants and gloves. I am good on base layers, socks and boots. Do any of y'all big spenders out there think it's all worth it ? I am a firm believer in the "get what you pay for rule" but I have been burned over some over-hyped items that weren't worth the pricetag. What works best for you guys ? I am open to all brands and price ranges but would like to keep the jacket under a buck fifty and the pants under/around $75.
    Lynx Defense

Hoji

Bowling-Pin Commando
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    May 28, 2008
    Mustang Ridge
    The UA cold gear pants are worth every penny you spend on them. Last year I ground hunted in Pennsylvania in 11 degree temperatures and was comfortable even sitting on the ground for hours at a time. Not cheap, but worked as advertised.

The smart wool longjohns are first rate as well.

TexMex247

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    May 11, 2009
    Leander(NW Austin)
    Can't believe no one else has commented. Am I the only hunter that actually hunts in the cold? Lol