• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • oldag

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Feb 19, 2015
    Best thing I did was buy the Workshop Ken Onion knife sharpener (as recommended by the folks on this site). Makes it quick and easy to keep the blades sharpened and any decent knife cuts well.
    Texas SOT

cygunner

Devil's Den - Gettysburg
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 20, 2021
    Cypress, TX
    Since my cooking wife (yes I have one and the waistline to attest) use her knives for everything from cleavers to screwdrivers I find good sharpeners are just as important as good knives. We have a steel but I am not too good with it. We have a couple of Chicago Cutlery boners that we have had for 25 or more years, they do the job well and are easy to sharpen with a draw through sharpener. A guest apparently liked a third one since we haven't seen it since they left. May get a Forschner just to try it out. For my smoking chores I went to a restaurant supply store and bought a big butcher knife and a long blade slicer. Butcher knife really makes short work of trimming briskets, knocking off char after smoking etc. Don't think I would try vegetables with it, at least not in my hand.

baboon

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 6, 2008
    Out here by the lake!
    I have two bigger knives from work, a 8 inch breaking knife and 10 inch steak knife. After all my years on the job holding a knife many days all day the hand & wrist just didn’t want to use them any longer.

I also add that I trained lots of apprentice meat cutters. Most people use a knife like a saw, which they clearly are not.

I too have a 14 inch Scimitar. I broke a good portion of the blade trying to cut palm frons. Now its used to cut pizzas. Those big ass blades were for cutting full sized rounds. Full cut rounds are better cut on a ban saw.