Join TexasGunTalk

Terrible shot!

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by CodyK, Oct 2, 2019.

1. CodyK

CodyK Member

Sep 5, 2019
    Houston
    I am pretty new to guns. A few weeks ago I got my first handgun, a Ruger Security 9mm, and have been to the range several times. I enjoy the hell outta shooting it, but I am a terrible shot! I don’t know if it’s my grip or what. I will be consistently low for 4 or 5 shots (I think I am aiming dead center of the target) and then I will hit 1 or 2 dead center. But I love practicing and ammo is cheap, so hopefully I’ll get more consistent!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. ZX9RCAM

ZX9RCAM Over the Rainbow bridge... TGT Supporter

May 14, 2008
    The Woodlands, Tx.
    Practice.
    Squeeze the trigger slowly.

Repeat.

Texasgordo likes this.
  3. Bithabus

Bithabus ! TGT Supporter

Aug 17, 2010
    Austin

claymore504 likes this.
  4. Mikewood

Mikewood Well-Known

Jan 8, 2011
    Houston
    Try the ball and dummy drill.
    Take three or four magazines. Load one with a live round the rest with snap caps. Place them in a shooting bag. Shake the bag. Now without looking at the gun load it with a mag from the bag. Focus on the front sight and press the trigger. Did you flinch? If so it’s low and left. Dry fire 25 times. Now unload and repeat the exercise until you don’t flinch.

jordanmills, no2gates and zackmars like this.
  5. Vaquero

Vaquero Pre-ban

Apr 4, 2011
    Out West
    How new is the pistol? I've had a few unfired that took over 50 rounds to shoot to point of aim. What ammo? Specifically what weight of bullet? Contrary to popular belief, a light and fast bullet will hit lower than a heavy and slow bullet. (This applies to handguns only).