• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • macshooter

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 31, 2012
    EL Chuco
    Macshooter new guy question, do you only put NFA items in the trust or do people use the trust to own other firearms as well?

I'm no lawyer, and the specifics of whether or not that is a good idea would depend on how your trust is written, and I would definitely pay to have a gun trust lawyer draft you up a quality document, and ask them about it. But in general, you can assign just about anything you want to a trust, it just needs to be written to accommodate the type of asset you want to put in it and be in compliance with state laws and all that.

I recently got an email from the lawyer that did mine offering new type of addition to existing trusts with language specifically to include the rest of my collection, I can't remember the details, but there was some advantage to it, to protect the collection if the laws change in the future or something. So definitely yes, you can. To me it seems as easy as adding them on an assignment sheet that you sign in front of witnesses or get notarized, same as you do with a can or an MG. Then they become property of the trust. However, for reasons I can't remember, it was recommended that I not do that for the rest of my collection at the time I had mine done, and use the NFA trust only for NFA items. But like I said, talk to a lawyer (maybe Sean Cody up at the top of the page) that does gun trusts, and have him draft one for you instead of doing a "quicken" trust. (those work, but it's better if you get it done right, specifically for NFA stuff) And tell him what you'd like to do as far as putting other guns in there and see what he recommends.

Last edited:

bryonbush

Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jul 17, 2010
    Terrell