• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • leVieux

TSRA/NRA Life Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Not looking for technicalities, just y’all’s honest opinions.

I grew-up listening to the WWII VETS. Dad had been all over and spent over a year & a half in Combat areas of Europe. 3 # of my 4 Uncles were Enlisted Sailors i the USN in the Pacific, also combat.

I was just in the USAR, Medical Corps, a Captain 3900 for 7 years but the longest I was on active duty was about 17 days at one time. So, I never considered myself a Vet, nor called myself a Vet.

Friend asked me to join our hometown American Legion Post, which is dying-out. I told him that I was not eligible, but he showed me that I was, so I joined.

Still never called myself a VET, but our youngest, who did 2 tours as a USMC Sergeant, now tells me that I’m a Vet.

I never got any farther than the Officer’s Club @ Fort Sill, spent most of my time supervising WO-PA’s at Darnall or Renolds Hospitals (Hood & Fort Sam). I always preface with “I was IN during “Nam, but I never went anywhere or did anything!” So, no “valor” here, no way.

Question now is how would/do you REAL VETS feel today about someone like me being considered or called a “Vet” ? The few old Buddies I have left who did go say “No big deal”. (I’m in my 80th year.)

Please tell me.

Thanks,
    leVieux
    Gun Zone Deals

leVieux

TSRA/NRA Life Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Did you go through boot camp?
    No, but Medical Officers never did. So that’s not an issue. I knew Docs who were called-up, put into a uniform, rushed through a quick BOBC / BOAC, and put on a plane for the far East.

Moi, I knew the old “Officer’s Bible” by heart already. I did grow up in a Military Family and went through the mandatory ROTC @ LSU.

Please tell me more. . . . .

toddnjoyce

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0