• ...and so much more!
  • leVieux

TSRA/NRA Life Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 28, 2013
    The Trans-Sabine
    >
    As one who has used pump shotguns for over 65 years, owner of several, and in-Family “instructor”, I have extensive experience with our major pump-guns like, Model 12, 870, M500, BPS, even old 1895 Winchester “Knuckle Skinners”, etc. http://media.liveauctiongroup.net/i/12295/12691281_1.jpg?v=8CEFB51DA21F580
    1671814118189.png

1671814118189.png

When young in South Texas, I routinely shot 6, or 7, 500 round cases of shells per year.

I recently watched one more video, in which an “expert” demonstrated pump gun use, but looked to me to not have a clue.

If any pump is to be used efficiently, the “pumping” action is done with the shot and recoil, not later.

I ask other pump gunners to take a moment and call-out these faux “experts” whenever you see them.

I can recall old Herb Parsons throwing seven targets into the air, then casually hitting all while they were still up there, using a Remington pumpgun. He would shoot the 5 or 6 rounds, then reload from shells held in his left hand, to finish.

I never could do anything like that.

But I did shoot many triples on passing doves & teal. Never “holding the trigger down”, either.

There are reasons for the enduring favor of pump shotguns, and their capability of very rapid rate of fire is certainly one. We all should learn the proper technique, whether we use it or not.

Rant over,
    leVieux
    ARJ Defense ad

MountainGirl

Happy to be here!
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 22, 2022
    Ten Oaks
    >
    As one who has used pump shotguns for over 65 years, owner of several, and in-Family “instructor”, I have extensive experience with our major pump-guns like, Model 12, 870, M500, BPS, even old 1895 Winchester “Knuckle Skinners”, etc. http://media.liveauctiongroup.net/i/12295/12691281_1.jpg?v=8CEFB51DA21F580 View attachment 363516