• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Pachucko

Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Dec 27, 2008
    Thanks to this forum I recently realized the restrictions SA had on blade lengths. I guess the New Cold Steel XL Voyager at 5.5 inches would be the way to go if one wanted to try to stay legal. But my question is, do LEOs really care? I've been carrying Spyderco Enduras on every visit for 10 years now, and seen other people with different knives, so I'm guessing no. Regards.....Pachucko

majormadmax

Úlfhéðnar
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 27, 2009
    Helotes!
    Not on blade lengths but on locking blades...

Sec. 21-17. Certain knives prohibited generally; exceptions; penalty for violation.
    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to intentionally or knowingly carry on or about his person a knife with a blade less than five and one-half (5 1/2) inches in length, which knife is equipped with a lock mechanism so that upon opening, it becomes a fixed blade knife.

But as to whether the local cops care, it's situational dependent. Minor infractions such as speeding tickets probably won't be a problem, get caught running a meth lab on the southside of town and they will dogpile as many charges on you as they can!

By the way, it is a Class C misdemeanor, and a violator would get a summons for it to appear in Municipal Court

M. Sage

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 21, 2009
    San Antonio
    I see tons of clips hanging out of tons of pockets. If I can notice them, SAPD can. Have yet to see or hear of them doing anything about it. Even tried getting a reaction by using my knife in view of an officer. He didn't care.

YMMV.

Pachucko

Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Dec 27, 2008
    That's about what I figured. I personally don't care, but didn't want to give bad advice to others. Thanks.....Pachucko

txinvestigator