• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SickSilverado

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 9, 2021
    TEXAS
    I was just pulled over. I notified Trooper that I had guns on me and in the truck(I was gonna test some guns after my driving shift at the border). He told me I was about to get an education. Trooper told me that I couldn't pocket carry. Not in public and not in my truck. I told him I wouldn't be in public if he hadn't made me stand in the street. He said all guns must be holstered unless new in their box. I asked if my range bag was acceptable and he said no. I have an LTC and I'm an LTC instructor, but he said I was wrong. I googled it and even looked at my handbook, but maybe I'm not understanding. I thought only open carried guns needed a shoulder/belt holster?

FYI - The pocket gun was empty. My actual EDC was a holstered VP9SK. Other guns in my range bag were projects.
    Target Sports

toddnjoyce

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Sep 27, 2017
    Boerne
    You appear to both be a little incorrect. TPC 46.02. Says this

(a-1) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries on or about his or her person a handgun in a motor vehicle or watercraft that is owned by the person or under the person's control at any time in which:
    (1) the handgun is in plain view, unless the person is 21 years of age or older or is licensed to carry a handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, and the handgun is carried in a holster; or
    (2) the person is:
    (A) engaged in criminal activity, other than a Class C misdemeanor that is a violation of a law or ordinance regulating traffic or boating; or
    (B) prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.

And this