• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jme1990je

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 2, 2015
    Looking for some opinions on how I should follow up on a 4473 denial today.

Sorry for the long post, trying to be as complete with info as possible.

I am a permanent resident (GC holder) and have been since 2016.

Today, after much (years) research on what pistol I wanted, I set out to buy my first one.
    Filled out 4473, checking, double checking everything, handed over license and green card and started the wait. I was fully expecting a "delayed" response and wasn't going to be upset about it. But DENIED?
    Got back home, used the NTN number and filed for reason for denial and it came back within 6 minutes stating that it was due to Section 922(g)(5) (A): “A person who, being an alien, is illegally or unlawfully in the United States.”

Immediately I thought maybe I had fat fingered a number when putting in my USCIS A# so I called the FFL to see if he could repeat it back to me so I could verify, but they wouldn't. He just told me to come back on Monday and fill out a new form, it will be ok.

Do I have to appeal the NICS decision? Or can I just go back and hope for the best?
    I'm completely confused as all my time here in the US has been legal, within visa terms and now my current GC is a 10 year card. DHS E-verify always verifies my status correctly. Never had an issue with law enforcement. Address on license and with USCIS is current, I even had proof of address with me in the form of vehicle reg. just in case.

Any opinion is welcomed.
    Texas SOT

no2gates

These are not the droids you're looking for.
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Aug 31, 2013
    Grand Prairie, TX
    1611456295892.png

Not sure if this helps.
    Also, is it possible the FFL entered the information in incorrectly?

Jme1990je

Rating - 0%