Join TexasGunTalk

Pandora's Box

Discussion in 'General Firearms & Ammo' started by Jarine88, Dec 9, 2019.

1. Jarine88

Jarine88 Active Member

Jul 24, 2018
    Cypress
    When I started researching and expanding my firearms collection, I had decided to stick to a few types of rounds: 9mm, 45 ACP, .22LR, 223/5.56x45mm, 308/7.62x51mm and 12 ga. The idea was that they were standard, common, and all were carried by the US Armed Forces, except for .22lr if you don't count the Henry Survival Rifle. My original idea was to have at least two of each caliber/gauge. It allows me to limit the types of ammo I need to buy and store. The only odd ball in my safe is my father's Winchester Model 94 in 30-30. I have it in my safe, but he can come get it any time.

Recently, I stopped to talk to a neighbor who lives down the street, and one that I had been waving to for the last 10 years. Turns out, he and I served in the Corps at the same time, and were even in boot camp around the same time. He asked me when the last time I shot, and I told him it had been a week since I was on the pistol range and a few weeks since I had shot clays. He asked about rifles and I told him it had been a while. Then he told me about his collection, his 1000 yrd shooting and his hobby of building rifles. I have wanted to build rifles for years, but I just haven't taken the leap. He also has an inside deal with a few pawn shops and gets pistols and rifles real cheap. I definitely had envy.

Over the next few weeks, we talked a few more times. Once, he took me to his safe and pulled some rifles out to show me. More envy. When it came to calibers, he was all over the map, but beyond what I have, his favorites were 6.5 Creedmoor and 6.5 Grendel. I started researching and I can see the attraction. With the military looking at these two rounds for the future, I was hooked.