• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • my00t8

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 4, 2010
    Dallas, TX
    Greetings, all!

I'm new to firearms. Not totally new, mind you, thanks to several family members, friends and the rifle ranges of several Boys Scout summer camps, but until this past Christmas I did not own a firearm of my own. Recently I seem to have developed an interest, in part due to marrying into a deer hunting family and other part due to all my college buddies seemingly developing an interest in parallel.

This Christmas I asked Santa (my wife) for a hunting rifle. I did mounds of research and went all over the place trying to handle the different models I was considering. They include...

Tikka T3 - Smoothest action I observed and reportedly the best out of box accuracy, but the safety was flimsy and there seemed to be plastic in all the wrong places.

Weatherby Vanguard/Howa 1500 - Gets great reviews, but just felt heavy and clunky in my arms.

Savage 11x - I probably didn't give the Savage proper consideration, admittedly due to my own mindset going in. I'm sure they make a great rifle overall. My brother-in-law has taken many deer with his 110.

Ruger M77 - Nothing wrong with this rifle. Loved it. Just didn't love it as much as...

Remington 700 - The Remington just seemed light without being cheap. Heavy without being clunky. It was a joy to handle and operate. The safety was idiot-proof and in a position that fit me nicely. All the best features were there... Drilled and tapped for scope mounting, an easily adjustable trigger, a nice recoil pad, etc. I knew the rifle was not without its faults, but it felt right to me.