• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • txwingnut62

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 9, 2011
    san antonio, tx
    Hello All,

I have been reading (and enjoying) this forum for a while and would like to pose this question for the group. From San Antonio, where is the nearest access to public land that is legal and safe for target shooting? I have seen postings in the El Paso section where they seem to have a location in the desert for this acitivity, but that is a little far for a days shooting. BTW, I have limited experience but enjoy pistol, rifle and shot gun shooting. Thanks for your time and I look forward to the responses.
    Hurley's Gold

San Antone RR

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 12, 2010
    San Antonio
    Welcome to TGT. Good luck on that search. I don't think you will find anything close, or we wouldn't bitch so much about the poor range selection in this city.

Buck Nekkid

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 30, 2009
    San Antonio
    I know some real cool places in Nevada :D We just don't have any "open Public Land" to speak of in Texas. Somebody owns virtually every acre in the state.

45tex

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 1, 2009
    Somebody owns the overwhelming majority of Texas. We need permission. Its a hassle but I'd rather we owned it than the government.

Termitehunter

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 18, 2009
    San Antonio
    Thats going to be toughest thing for me to adjust to. (Finaly moving to San Antonio Saturday) Man It took forever to transfer.
    I'm used to going out every other weekend on a 30 to 45 minute drive in any direction and shooting a good 4 to 6 hours at a time. My buddies and I run some class 3 items as well and the desert is ideal for this.[video]http://www.facebook.com/#!/video/video.php?v=115413368518203&oid=100756653308159[/video]

TheDan

deplorable malcontent scofflaw
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Nov 11, 2008