• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dsgrey

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 25, 2015
    Denton County
    I've had pretty good luck with Netgear's Orbi system. Simple to set up and works well to give solid Wifi throughout the house.

Same here for almost 2 years. They have a newer version that's a bit expensive. Only downside is not having a dedicated 2.4 ID for cheap devices like cameras or wifi outlets but I solved that with a cheap TP link extender with a dedicated 2.4 ID.

popper

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 23, 2013
    But your wireless mesh is probably 'open' to the fios/cable router. Need to VPN to the router.

rotor

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 1, 2015
    Texas
    I am not tech savvy so need help here. Our wifi router is downstairs in a room by front door. I get poor reception in the bedroom on opposite side of house as well as upstairs. Will something like this work to increase speeds and stop the "buffering" and dropping of wifi? Do I get rid of current router and use these alone?
    Thanks in advance for enlightenment :)
    Yes, that was my situation.

rotor

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 1, 2015
    Texas
    Even replacing an old wifi router can do wonders.

Some time ago I realized my wifi router was not capable of the much higher internet speed I had. New wireless router, almost tripled the download speed.
    I pay for 100 mbs down and could get that on my rented Spectrum router if I was close to it but not at the other end of the house. Now I get that speed everywhere in my house.

rotor

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 1, 2015
    Texas
    When was the last time Spectrum updated your hardware? I had them replace mine a couple months ago, and geez, what a huge difference. My phone download speed is appx 400. My laptop logs download at 350, and uploads near 25. Prior hardware had my download at 40ish.