• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RangerDoc275

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 14, 2018
    Greater Austin, Texas
    So I've owned a Dillon RL550B for many years. Here in TX I was able to dedicate an entire room to reloading (rather than the garage space I had in Washington). So I added a second RL550 to the new room. This one came from Dillon as the RL550C. For years, I've maintained my 550B by annually disassembling it to clean and lubricate it and I just used basic 'gun' grease or a tube of assembly grease (the black stuff).

The new RL550C has built in grease fittings, but alas, I have zero experience with grease guns and these fittings. So I'm hoping some of y'all do and own RL550Cs. Dillon's FAQs don't call out specifics about the 550C.

1. What is a good quality grease gun and what fittings do I need? I can see there are holes and nipples (is that the right term?) on the 550C. Obviously I need something that goes into the holes and something that attaches to the nipples. (Did I really just type that?) Amazon has way too many choices for someone with zero experience.

2. What grease should I use for said grease gun? I'm assuming that with the new set up I can forgo the annual disassembly because I can grease it directly now.

3. How does one put grease into the "holes" on the 550C and not have it just squirt right back out of the hole? Seems there would be some sort of fitting for these too.

4. Anything else about grease, grease guns, fittings, or the sort you'd like to share will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
    Lynx Defense

TheMailMan

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 3, 2015
    North of Kaufman
    Get a mini grease gun at Home Despot or Lowe's. The grease that comes with it is fine. That will fit the Zerks.

For the holes make sure you're not supposed to put oil in them. If it is grease just use a needle attachment for the grease gun.