• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • B. Wright

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 24, 2022
    Cypress
    Just picked this up at Costco yesterday. I’m doing a couple of chickens. I’ve never used one before so I’m excited to see what the outcome is.
    image.jpg
    DK Firearms

B. Wright

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 24, 2022
    Cypress
    Hopefully it comes out cooked....
    Interesting you say that. I put the chickens in for the amount of time they told me. The internal temp said it was good to go but when I pulled it out and tried it again with a different thermometer it said it wasn't quite there. Back on the grill it went for another 20 minutes and the same thing happened. It came out cooked all the way through but the skin wasn't as crispy as I would have like it. I think it will take some getting used to.

TxStetson

Opinionated and Irritable
    TGT Supporter
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 9, 2013
    The Big Country
    Here is one of them. It does feel like cheating though. I’m used to the Weber.
    View attachment 332802
    It does take a little while to get used to it. The first year I had mine, I didn't use anything else. Now I decide which grill to use depending on what I'm trying to do.

One thing you can do for chicken is cook it at the temp they recommend until just before it's done, and then crank the heat to about 400 to crisp up the skin prior to taking it off.

B. Wright

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 24, 2022
    Cypress
    It does take a little while to get used to it. The first year I had mine, I didn't use anything else. Now I decide which grill to use depending on what I'm trying to do.

One thing you can do for chicken is cook it at the temp they recommend until just before it's done, and then crank the heat to about 400 to crisp up the skin prior to taking it off.
    That sounds like a good idea.

B. Wright