Target Sports

Is there such a thing as "too much" scope?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rman

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Sep 7, 2015
    Ft. Worth
    Hey all,

Jumping in to the whole long-range / precision shooting world, and am a complete novice.
    As such, what better way to do it with a 30" 338 Lapua.

I am looking at a Trijicon 5-50x56mm. Is there a downside to this scope besides maybe SFP?
    I know most would go with a 5-25 or something in that range. But being as the minimum magnification is still 5, doesn't that mean I just have more scope available, without sacrificing any FOV?

Thanks
    Gun Zone Deals

jrbfishn

TGT Addict
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 9, 2013
    south of killeen
    I prefer FFP for distance. But that is me.
    Can you have too good of a scope? Absolutely not.
    Can you have too much magnification? Absolutely you can.
    Especially if you are trying to hold you crosshairs perfectly still. You will have as much wobble at 5x as you will at 50x, but it is more pronounced. And people tend to fight "all that wobble" instead of using it. And sometimes, you just flat don't need it. Less can be more.
    Balance what you get between what you are going to use it for, your level, and you personally.

Sent by an idjit coffeeholic from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

toddnjoyce

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Sep 27, 2017
    Boerne