• ...and so much more!
  • Texas42

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 21, 2008
    Texas
    Got my email. I have a job!!

I find out on friday where! For those of you who don't know, I'm a fourth year medical student. I'm going to be a resident, probably in Internal Medicine. I've paid my last tuition bill, now I'm gonna get a paycheck!
    Lynx Defense

scgstuff

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 7, 2011
    Central Texas
    Man, we have lawyers and now doctors. We will need to start a Harley Davidson section soon.

Congrats! Are you at the mercy of the school deciding where you do your residency or do you get the choose?

Texas42

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 21, 2008
    Texas
    Man, we have lawyers and now doctors. We will need to start a Harley Davidson section soon.

Congrats! Are you at the mercy of the school deciding where you do your residency or do you get the choose?

Not really.

There is an application and an interview proccess. I submit a rank order. Residency programs submit a rank list as well. On Monday, they released an email to the applicants telling them whether they matched or not (so they can scramble for the unmatched positions), and on Friday they will tell me where I'm going. At my medical school, they have a banquet where they hand out envelopes that we get to open on stage (the school can release them an hour before the email goes out).

mitchntx

Sarcasm Sensei
    Emeritus - "Texas Proud"
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jan 15, 2012
    Waco-ish
    Not really.