• ...and so much more!
  • Geezer

Mostly Peaceful
    TGT Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jul 23, 2019
    Silsbee, Texas
    Since I'm still a wannabe Texas resident (hopefully I'll get that fixed by spring), I call this chili. After it simmers a few hours, I'll add some black beans and simmer some more.

chili.jpg

I know that that I'm breaking a lot of Texan rules here but we like it. I understand that there has been wars started on whether beans goes in chili. Same goes for ground beef.

Once I get to Texas, I want to make some authentic Texan chili. I'm sure that there is one standard recipe that everyone uses, right?

Attachments

• chili.jpg
      chili.jpg
      96.4 KB · Views: 791

Rob945

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 21, 2018
    North Texas
    The purists here will never use beans and many won't even allow tomatoes. I'm a born and raised Texan and my personal preference is that if I add beans, they should be pinto beans. That said, I appreciate all kinds of chili con carne. My preference for an accompaniment is cornbread, along with a cold beer.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

kbaxter60

"Gig 'Em!"
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 23, 2019
    Pipe Creek
    I'm a born and raised Texan and my personal preference is that if I add beans, they should be pinto beans. That said, I appreciate all kinds of chili con carne. My preference for an accompaniment is cornbread, along with a cold beer.
    Ditto on that.

That said, I do love a nice mess of pinto beans, cooked cowboy style. Or ranchero. There's a place in Fredericksburg that serves pinto beans and cornbread. Don't recall the name, but...yum.

avvidclif

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 30, 2017
    Van Zandt County