• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • StevenC.

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 10, 2013
    San Antonio
    This post is an invite to share how tight of a reign you keep on your students.

To put context to the question, presume Basic/Beginner instruction and small class (1-3 students). A tight reign would be when a student does not touch the gun, load a round of ammunition, insert a mag, chamber a round or fire a shot without a specific instruction to do so.

A loose reign would be more like "Load and fire 3 shots at your leisure," and, "Continually load and fire 3 (or 5) rounds at a time until I ask you to stop."

I volunteer I am a very loose reign instructor. After instructing the student to load and fire 1 shot, then instructing them to load and fire 3 shots, I instruct them to load and fire three round strings for anywhere from 12 to 21 additional shots and their leisure. I use that time to coach and get them comfortable with with shooting in a Basic Class. But that is because the classes are very small, 1 student most of the time, up to four on very rare occasions.

I would ask that you not berate or mock another's preference so that we can hear their thoughts as to why they hold the reigns tight or loose.

Thanks for posting.

Last edited:

TXDARKHORSE361

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 15, 2012