• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • txDavidtx

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 22, 2019
    Houston
    Hi,

I am planing to remove the gunpowder from a collection of bullets... and then sell them as decorative sets...

Is there anyone doing this kind of things? how can I go about this... and is there any particular law about reselling bullets this way?

Thanks for any tips or ideas about this... I am new to this and I have seeing people in this forums are really knowledgeable and helpful.
    Target Sports

baboon

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 6, 2008
    Out here by the lake!
    First thing it will depend on the size of the ammo your breaking down. A kinetic bullet works great & generally does not leave marks on the bullet. Most collet type puller will leave marks on the bullet.

Dawico

Uncoiled
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Lampasas, Texas
    Welcome to TGT.

I agree with the others recommending just buying new componants. Not only is it cheaper but pulling bullets sucks.

Why do you want to disassembled ammo to do this?

Ole Cowboy

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 23, 2013
    17 Oaks Ranch
    Welcome to TGT

+1 for purchasing the bullets and casing from reloading suppliers rather than disassembling live rounds. Safer by far.
    +2

I worked in the Ammo business for a few years...gonna tell you this Pilgrim it is a dangerous game. When it comes to retrofitting bullets it's done by a machine extracting the bullet inside a large box full of steam IIRC this is to prevent explosions from sparks.

Sparks and static electricity are NOT your friends. I came to work and put on a set of flameproof coveralls, then I put on special shoes with electrical conducting soles. Then I attached to each leg over the top of the sock on the skin a conducting strap and had a lead that went down and wrapped around my shoes with the conducting soles.