• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • swsmailman

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 22, 2010
    East Texas
    I am 19 and about to buy my first gun within the next couple of weeks, I grew up around guns and have a couple that I was giving, but now I want one that is all mine, a Mossberg 500 that is at my local Gander Mountain

What can I expect? like fees and checks?
    I have had a couple of background check over the past 2 years for my Job and school, so i know I am good there.

After I do buy it is there something I should do for myself? besides the obvious of practicing using it.

And...

I saw something in the classifieds about AIM Surplus for a cheap mosin, Always wanted one, but when I got to the site I saw the thing about FFL Dealer/03 Collector Sales Only. I am still learning about all the laws and such, so can someone explain this to me? Cause I would really love a Mosin.

Has anyone bought from AIM surplus? and I assume you are able to shoot the mosin?
    Gun Zone Deals

TheDan

deplorable malcontent scofflaw
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Nov 11, 2008
    Austin - Rockdale
    When you buy a gun on the internet, or mail order, or whatever, it has to be first shipped to a gun dealer local to you, and once the dealer has the gun you ordered you will have to fill out a form 4473 and the dealer will perform the background check. That usually takes less than 15min and if everything checks out, you leave with your gun. It's pretty simple really. The dealer will charge you a transfer fee, usually around $20. Any dealer should be familiar with what you want to do, just ask around. Also, read AIM's FAQ: How do I buy Firearms?

I bought a Mosin from them awhile back and it shoots great. I even have a Mosin built in 1898 that still shoots... They are neigh indestructible.

Texas42

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 21, 2008
    Texas