• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RSBro

No Limit Honky
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 9, 2019
    Magnolia, Texas
    I'm brand new to the red dot world, and purchased a Leupold Delta Point Pro and have it mounted on my new Sig P320 Legion X5 that I'm planning to zero in this weekend.
    I've watched numerous videos on how to 'best' zero a pistol red dot, but wanted to get some more info here. I've seen many say you need to slave first to the iron sights, and then go from there, but for the DPP to fit on my X5, the rear irons had to be removed, even though Leupold makes a rear iron sight adapter. But then, what's the point of the red dot? I do NOT plan to carry this gun, but possibly try out competitive shooting in the future, so not sure the rear irons are that important.
    Also, I've seen many say 25 yards is best, others the 5, 10, 15? Sig says use 15 and go from there.

Is it really as easy as get to 15 yards, and adjust height and windage from your red dot center? I've always had someone available to help me zero rifle optics in the past but they are no longer available, so this is my first time trying it on my own. Sorry for the n00by question! Just want to really learn my gear best I can.
    Gun Zone Deals

MaxFactor

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 14, 2020
    Fort Worth
    Hey there!

I'm in the same boat as you lol completely upgraded my glock 19 with TTI fiber optic sights and my RMR but i used a 9mm boresight laser which you can get on amazon fairly cheap! you can zero it in your house and take it to the range and fine tune it there which i still have to do. Getting a bean bag and resting your firearm on it to zero your sights is probably the preferred way I'd assume.

RSBro

No Limit Honky
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 9, 2019
    Magnolia, Texas