AMD Ryzen CPU for a gaming computer

Shady

TGT Addict
Aug 24, 2013
I have not built a computer in +- 12 years :) last one and I am still using it is a Intel i7 2600K I remember spending an ass load on the parts lol but I guess it ended up being not to bad of a deal. Other than a few upgrades like GPU and ram over the years its done its job.

So because I am a computer builder I was asked to put together a system for a Christmas gift. Little did I know computer parts are like gun parts you cant find them.

I am down to the CPU and I really know nothing about AMD and the structure of how they name CPU's and how the CPU's perform.

What is the better deal for a gaming PC

Ryzen 7 3800X 3rd Generation 8-Core - 16-Thread - 3.9 GHz at $360

Ryzen 9 3900X 3rd Generation 12-core - 24-Thread - 3.8 GHz at $460

I know cores are important and I am sure there is a difference with the 7 vs 9 but I think that those are more to do with multi tasking or photo editing or things like cad/cam software.

Thanks for your insight and by the time I get down to picking I may not have a choice lol. I did order the ryzen 7 above but have not went to pick it up and a box store and have till Wednesday to pick it up or just cancel the order.

I may order the other one just so I can research info on them.

In the end enough was spent on parts the $100 is not the deciding factor in what CPU to get.

Brains

Hey! Relax!
Apr 9, 2013
Spring
It all depends on what you're going to do with the machine. The AMD Zen 2 cores in those processors are great, I have a 6 core Ryzen 5 3600 (non X) and I'm more than happy with it, but all it's doing is running VMware EXSi and hosting a few VMs.