• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rum Runner

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2010
    Plano
    I do not claim to know everything, in fact the older I get, the less I seem to know. However I am a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer, work with computers for a living, have been programming computers since the late 1970's, and think I know a good deal. I am not a security expert. The following is simply from my experience. It also applies much more to Windows PCs than linux/macs/etc. as I have little experience outside of Windows PCs. Hopefully some people will find my advice as helpful as I find the advice about firearms for those much more experienced than myself.

My advice in order of importance:

1) Don't be dumb. Seriously, we all do dumb things from time to time. We do dumb things because we are on autopilot and not really thinking, or because we get complacent, etc. The simple truth is that nothing else will keep you safe if you are dumb even once. For example, several of the programs I list below will notify you if something is strange or allow you to bypass the security for certain legitimate reasons. If you just rubber stamp things without really asking yourself if this should be happening, you are going to be one of those people you see on the net saying, "I used X, Y, Z, etc. and I still got a virus/malware/spyware/etc.." Probably 95% of those people dropped their guard and did something dumb. They may not even have realized it. As an example, if you didnt start an installation program FROM A TRUSTED SOURCE and one of the programs below asks if is ok for some program to modify your registry....DONT BE DUMB and click OK. If your firewall program says "XYZ is trying to access the internet", and you dont know exactly what XYZ is and why it needs internet access...you better not click ALLOW! The easiest way to throw all the below prevention in the garbage is to be dumb. Moving on...