• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Saipem

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 21, 2021
    Beaumont
    Howdy, I’m new to reloading 30-30. How many times are finding you can reload Remington and Winchester 30-30 cases? I’m using middle of the road loads and am not oversizing the brass.

Saipem

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 21, 2021
    Beaumont
    I anneal mine after the every fourth loading, and have some on their at least 20th loading so far. I don't load 30-30 hot anyways either.

Wow! I don’t load anything, but I don’t get that out of 357 mag brass. I’ll look into annealing then. Is there a method you use for that?

Axxe55

Retiretgtshit stirrer
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 15, 2019
    Lost in East Texas Elhart Texas
    Wow! I don’t load anything, but I don’t get that out of 357 mag brass. I’ll look into annealing then. Is there a method you use for that?

Some people like to load at maximum powder charges, but IMO that puts a lot of stress on the cases and the gun many times. If I think I should be, or need to load at the upper limits, then it might be time to step up to something larger and more powerful.

My annealing method is very simple. a small propane torch, a cordless drill with a 1/4" socket adapter and a socket that fits the rim diameter of the case. There are lots of videos that show how to anneal cases, or how to make an annealer on YouTube. Watching the brass color when heating is critical though. You don't need to heat them very much at all, and don't want to over-heat them either.

Ozzman

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 17, 2015
    El Paso, Texas
    Not too sure on .30-30, but I do have some .308 brass (mainly Winchester and Prvi) that have been reloaded in the "upper teens" with mild cast loads.