• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cybrhick

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 30, 2010
    Alvin
    I am a newb to this site, and firearms. I am ignorant of state and federal law. So I figured I'd ask those who are not.

Is it still legal to buy a gun from an individual without registering it? How about trading for a gun? Must it be registered?
    Gun Zone Deals

Texasjack

TGT Addict
    Rating - 50%
    1   1   0
    Jan 3, 2010
    Occupied Texas
    Mind if I add something a bit off-topic? If you're going to show your toys on a public forum, you might want to edit the license plate so it doesn't show. Good folks on the TGT, but lots of trolls around the internet.

cybrhick

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 30, 2010
    Alvin
    Great info. So one more question. How does the transaction change if I were to buy/trade a firearm from an individual while out of state?

Texas1911

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 29, 2017
    Austin, TX
    Great info. So one more question. How does the transaction change if I were to buy/trade a firearm from an individual while out of state?

You cannot legally by a firearm from an individual from another state. That is regulated by the ATF, and the transaction must go through an FFL in your state of residence.

cybrhick

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 30, 2010
    Alvin
    And what paperwork must be filled out to retrieve the firearm from the FFL? I know I'm asking a bunch of questions. I'm just trying to understand everything BEFORE I start looking and/or purchasing. Been trying to horsetrade as much as possible since money is tight.

Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 17, 2010
    Austin