• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Donnie Bell

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 25, 2017
    San Antonio, TX
    I am not new to hunting by any means; however, I have not hunted in several years and have never hunted with my .22 rifle ever. I am new to Texas and I have done as much research as I can possible do, I have googled until the cows come home and searched the Texas Wildlife and Game website as much as I can, and I can't find ANY information as to whether or not I can use my .22 rifle to legally hunt squirrel and rabbit. I know that this is the most popular weapon to use for it, but for public hunting lands, is it legal to use as I can't find ANY documentation on this subject.
    Lynx Defense

BRD@66

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 23, 2014
    Liberty Hill
    Welcome to TGT. We've got a guy who thinks he know everything that'll be along shortly to quote the law. Me, I'm native TX, shot rabbits & squirrels w .22. Only public hunting I ever did in TX was dove on Corps of Engineers land. But that experience is limited - only since 1956.

majormadmax

Úlfhéðnar
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 27, 2009
    San Antonio!
    Not an issue. In fact, the Texas Parks & Wildlife Commission recommends it for small game...

copy_of_RecommendedCalibersforGame400pixels.gif

Source: https://tpwd.texas.gov/education/hunter-education/online-course/firearms-and-ammunition-1/bullets

majormadmax

Úlfhéðnar
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 27, 2009
    San Antonio!
    The only restriction I could find was for pellet guns...